I Am Woman, Hear Me Roar {Five Minute Friday}

Woman_1

Here is my Five Minute attempt to empower you. This is my way of saying, “You, woman, You are beautiful, you are strong, you are capable, you are accepted, you are worthy, and you are created with purpose.”

/ / / / / / / / / /

Can I just say you’re fabulous? Yes, I’m talking to you! I’m talking to the mom, the sister, the daughter, the friend. You, my lady are MIGHTY.

I learned something recently- God created us, women, in His image, yes. But you know what else? He gave us a special name. His name. Helper. I’m not a scholar and I’m still working on learning English, so I won’t attempt to explain literal meanings and translations, but here is what I think I know and I kindof found it profound- God made us mighty and marvelous and passed down His very name to us.

So it’s not the cooking and the cleaning that makes you Mighty Mom. It’s not even being a Mom, bearing a baby, or the bringing forth of life that makes you so Marvelous.

You are Mighty because He is the Almighty.

You see, our God, He counts the hairs on your head. Your head. He numbers your days and gathers your tears. Yours! He created a beautiful woman, because Adam just couldn’t do without, and He called her Helper.

As in “I will send them a Helper” kind of helper. Yes, as in the Holy Spirit kind of helper.

So as women, stepping up to the plate with bats that are far too heavy, we are swinging anyway. And sometimes we hit a homerun and sometimes we barely make it to first base. Sometimes we even strike out. The point is we are trying. We are women in the church and we are stepping up to do our parts.

And I’m not just referring to changing diapers and sweeping floors, or prepping meals and teaching Sunday School. I’m referring to all of those things, and more. I’m referring to women who work long, hard hours and come home to an empty nest. Women who are world changers, lovers of people, and passionate advocates. I’m looking at you, woman, and I’m hoping you can see how Mighty you are simply because you are you, God created you complete, and knit you to His satisfaction.

/ / / / / / / / / /

And if that’s not empowering enough for you, please go here, and preorder Lisa-Jo’s book- surprised by motherhood: Everything I Never Expected About Being A Mom. And if you’re impatient like I am, go here and read the first three chapters for free!

surprisedbymotherhood-book-banner-zoe2

I’m linking up with Mighty Women and writing for Five Minutes on this week’s prompt- MIGHTY. Would you join us?

Five Minute Fridays with Lisa-Jo Baker, author of Surprised by Motherhood

Five Minute Fridays with Lisa-Jo Baker, author of Surprised by Motherhood

2 thoughts on “I Am Woman, Hear Me Roar {Five Minute Friday}

  1. Wow. What an amazing post. Your words inspired me today! is it true that you are learning English? I can’t believe it. You have such an incredible way of expressing yourself. truly.

    Like

    • Let me clarify- I’m a homeschool mom (American and English speaking through and through), learning how to write and speak “correctly” as I *ahem* teach it 🙂 Always learning, right? 😉

      Like

I know your time is precious, but so are your thoughts.

